Groups are the present and the future of Facebook. Mark Zuckerberg’s social network is focusing heavily on these micro-communities, which is why it is constantly introducing new features (see the badge of the most active fans).
The end? To improve the life of these communities of interest, to stimulate relationships and dialogues and to respond to the needs of privacy and protection expressed by people. It is with this in mind that the choice to activate new privacy options for Facebook groups is placed.
What is it about? Let’s clarify!
In the beginning there were 3
Until recently, the possible privacy options for Facebook groups were 3:
- Audience – anyone could post and view the contents of the group;
- Private – in the group only the participants could post the contents and the group was visible to everyone within Facebook and its search engine;
- Secret – the group was visible only to its participants.
What has changed with the news introduced by Facebook? And what does it mean for existing groups?
I am now 2
There are 2 privacy options you can now choose from when you open a group on Facebook:
- Public – anyone can view group members’ posts, comment on and share content in the group; all people on Facebook can see the list of members in the group; all people on Facebook can see who the group’s administrators and moderators are;
- Private – only current group members can view group member posts, comment on and share content in the group; only current group members can see the list of members in the group; everyone on Facebook can see who the group’s administrators and moderators are.
“By separating the privacy settings for posts and group membership from the overall discoverability of the group, group administrators can more easily understand and manage their group’s privacy settings and it is also easier for members to know important information such as who can find the group. “
These are the words of Jordan Davis, Product Manager for Facebook Groups.
What happens to the old groups?
What happens to old groups following the introduction of the new privacy options? These are the changes that the existing groups have undergone:
- If the group that exists is secret it becomes private and hidden in the Facebook search;
- If the existing group is closed it becomes private and visible in the Facebook search;
- If the group that exists is public it will remain public and visible in Facebook search.
If you are a group administrator and want to check or change privacy, all you have to do is access the settings.
Remember that if you change the privacy of your group, all members will receive a notification that will notify them of the change.
Lyle Gerhard is a Digital Marketer and a writer. He has six years of experience regarding digital and content marketing. Furthermore, he also provide amazon suspended account reinstated services because he has command over this.